Observance Lodge

Greetings Brothers and Seekers

Observance Lodge #686 meets regularly every Thursday at the Grand Lodge of Tennessee building (located on the corner of Broadway and 7th St.) in beautiful downtown Nashville, TN. We begin with informal fellowship at 5pm, dinner at 6pm, and masonic official business at 7pm.
Please refer to our “Calendar” tab for details regarding our upcoming events.

Observance welcomes you to join us for dinner and a tour of the lodge, even if you are not a Mason.
We are proud to express our “Southern hospitality” to all visitors and are happy to answer questions.

Interested in Freemasonry?

Freemasonry is the oldest fraternal society in the world.
The process to become a Freemason begins with exploratory visits to local lodges to find a group of masons with whom you relate most.
Once you have found the lodge that is right for you, and one that is logistically feasible for your regular attendance, you may ask for a petition for membership.
In order for your petition to be accepted, it must be signed by two active members of that lodge, who will formally recommend and vouch for you.
Therefore, you must get to know the members of the lodge before submitting a petition.
Hence, we strongly encourage visitors to join us for dinner and a lodge tour on Thursdays.

We hope to see you soon.
Fiat Lux,
Observance Lodge

A Brief History of Observance Lodge

In 1915, a group of distinguished gentlemen had a meeting of the minds to embark upon a journey to form a new masonic lodge in Nashville, TN. In accordance to its objective to promote traditional masonic values, they decided it would be named Observance Lodge.

The 43 initial members of Observance Lodge first met on January 1st, 1916. Some of the founding members were newly made masons and others were prominent masons that maintained affiliations with their previous lodges. Soon thereafter, the Grand Master of the State of Tennessee formally accepted their petition and Observance Lodge was declared open for business “under strict supervision” on February 10th, 1916.

During this time, as a newly minted lodge, Observance Lodge #686 held their meetings at Cumberland Lodge #283. Unto this day, it is unclear whether the two lodges met together or if Observance purely shared Cumberland’s home. As customary amongst masonic lodges within the same district, it can be speculated that Cumberland offered Observance the use of its home when it was not in use by them.

A year later, Observance Lodge would no longer be called Observance Lodge. On February 28th, 1917, the Grand Master of the State of Tennessee officially granted our charter and we became forever known as Observance Lodge #686.

As the lodge continued to grow, it was time for Observance to find a permanent home. An arrangement was made with the Ancient & Accepted Scottish Rite Valley of Nashville in 1926, and Observance moved into the Scottish Rite Valley Cathedral, located downtown Nashville. Ten years later, in 1937, the Grand Lodge of Tennessee purchased the building and solidified Observance Lodge #686’s home on Broadway, where Observance has met on the third Thursday of each month ever since.

Past Masters

1917 – Harry Hill
1918 – James J. Vaughn
1919 – W. Frank Lampe
1920 – Jedd W. Apperson
1921 – D. Perkins Sexton
1922 – J. Clark Akers
1923 – James A. Senter
1924 – Julian C. Peebles
1925 – Charles S. Parrish
1926 – Houston B. Smith
1927 – Joseph Lee Martin
1928 – James J. Vaughn
1929 – Lloyd L. McKeel
1930 – William H. Morgan
1931 – George B. Morgan
1932 – George A. King
1933 – George A. Karsch, Jr.
1934 – William A. Johnson
1935 – Manning B. Kirby
1936 – Will Ewing Johns
1937 – Paul R. Jarrett
1938 – Jedd W. Apperson
1939 – Grady L. Mayhew
1940 – J. Robert Alexander
1941 – J. William Coles

1942 – Calvin L. Baker
1943 – G. Darden Craig, Jr.
1944 – J. William Coles
1945 – J. Robert Alexander
1946 – Oren O. Jones
1947 – Robb M. Finney
1948 – J. Jeffrey Hooberry, Jr.
1949 – Thomas T. Murray
1950 – Clyde R. Watson
1951 – W. Russell Holder
1952 – H. M. Henderson
1953 – William G. McKelvey, Jr.
1954 – John R. Funk
1955 – James Byrd Pert
1956 – Eugene M. White
1957 – Milton Y. Brockett, Jr.
1958 – James Nelson Bryan, Sr.
1959 – Ottomar William Tilly
1960 – Coban Ray Nixon
1961 – James E. Baggett, Jr.
1962 – Billy Grigsby Talley
1963 – Sydney Dale Smith
1964 – Rayvan Artice Fishburn
1965 – Louis Rice Drake
1966 – Robert R. Quarles

1967 – Francis Asbury Gaines
1968 – Arthur C. Kilburn, Jr.
1969 – J. Jeffrey Hooberry, Jr.
1970 – Thomas H. Phelan, Jr.
1971 – Thomas Ray Taylor
1972 – Joseph Lee Martin, Jr.
1973 – Robert Morris Jones
1974 – C. Everett Blanton
1975 – Joseph Lee Martin, Jr.
1976 – Norman W Griswold, Jr.
1977 – Albert R McPherson
1978 – Donald Wayne Wright
1979 – David Edward Robbins
1980 – John Harlan Zarth
1981 – Wm. Donald McGahan
1982 – Jerry Wendell Simmons
1983 – Jackie Palmore Hatcher
1984 – Wm Dennis Osborne, Jr
1985 – Frederic L. Zimmerman
1986 – Roger Thurman Gray
1987 – Thomas Ray Taylor
1988 – Donald Wayne Wright
1989 – John Harlan Zarth
1990 – Jackie Palmore Hatcher
1991 – A. H. Adams

1992 – Jerry Wendell Simmons
1993 – Robert D. Mitchell Jr.
1994 – Thomas Ray Taylor
1995 – Jackie Palmore Hatcher
1996 – Wm Dennis Osborne, Jr
1997 – Jerry Wendell Simmons
1998 – David J. Baulch
1999 – T. Benjamin Hamilton
2000 – J. Jeffrey Hooberry, Jr.
2001 – Jerry Wendell Simmons
2002 – Timothy P. Luther
2003 – Thomas Harold Clark
2004 – James R. Morrison Jr.
2005 – Harold Davis Grider
2006 – Fred A. Dusel, III
2007 – Jonathan Jason ‘Jay’ Peek
2008 – Ronnie D. Johnson
2009 – Robert Alan Grider
2010 – Harry D. Carney
2011 – John A. Tackett Jr.
2012 – Travis Eugene Scala
2013 – Calvin Mason Thomas Jr.
2014 – Timothy Jay Warner
2015 – Jason Pappafotis
2016 –

Frequently Asked Questions

View PDF             Download PDF

Observance Lodge Officers

Enderson Miranda

Worshipful Master


Carlo Mayo Malabanan

Senior Warden

Brian Ingle Long

Junior Warden

Zack Brian Nibert


Frederick Arthur Acklie, PM


Calvin Mason Thomas Jr., PM


Stephen Anthony Martin

Senior Deacon

Alex Moran

Junior Deacon

Roy Holley

Senior Steward

Eric Massey

Junior Steward

Noel Celestre


Colt Erickson McKinney


Member Dues & Donations

Dues Payment

Observance Lodge 2016 Dues Payment. Click “Pay Now” below to pay your 2016 dues online. You do not need a PayPal account to pay with a credit or debit card. Thank you, brothers, for your continued support!

Steward’s Fund

If you join us regularly for dinner at Observance Lodge, you may contribute to the purchase of our meals by donating to our Steward’s Fund. Nothing brings brothers together like a good meal, and well-funded stewards ensures well-fed Masons.

“A house is not a home unless it contains food and fire for the mind as well as the body.”
-Benjamin Franklin

Contact Us

3 + 8 =

Observance Lodge #686 – Nashville Freemasonry, 100 7th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37203

Observance686@gmail.com     Secretary's Phone: 615-668-6881

Observance Lodge #686

Nashville Freemasonry

100 7th Avenue North

Nashville, TN 37203


Secretary's Phone: